Zebra
Somewhere in, NJ
Male, 62
I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!
Initiating contact isn't the issue. Any PI call is based on advantage/disadvantage. Did the receiver create separation? did he gain an advantage with the contact? Likewise, did the defender impede the receiver from making a play on the ball. The initial contact by Rudolph may not have impacted the play. The contact by Chancellor was deemed to have been interference.
I'm reading an Auburn KO. If it is touched by Ala in the field of play it is still a kick. If it goes into the endzone and is covered by Alabama, it is a touchback. It was the kick that put the ball in the endzone.
If a receiver is forced out of bounds he must return immediately to regain eligibility. If he goes out on his own, then a defender must first touch the ball before the receiver can. He must re-establish himself (on the ground) so catching in the air after going out of bounds makes the ball dead when he hits the ground. Sorry, but I couldn't access the video.
Too many. It will vary based on the size of staffs, number of media. You're talking easily 150 and likely way more. At least 50 players on each team, a dozen coaches for each team, staffs of maybe 20 or more. It goes on.....
Hotel Front Desk Agent
Private Detective
Server / Bartender
Talk college and HS first. You can cover a receiver, but he then is no longer eligible to go out for a pass by his position (he isn't an end or back). You still need five players numbered between 50 and 79 on the line.
In the NFL, I believe that is illegal. You cannot have an ineligible number on the end of the line, which you would with a receiver inside. The ineligible player on the end could report in to the referee and be announced as eligible (you'll hear the ref announce "Number 79 is reporting in as eligible.") Then you'd be good.
We'll keep it simple and give you the basics. For college play, it is post-scrimmage kick enforcement, Rule 10-2-3. It is B's (receiver's) ball as long as they have possession of the ball at the end of the play.
It's good. Rule 6-3-1 says: ARTICLE 1. a. A scrimmage kick that fails to cross the neutral zone continues in play. All players may catch or recover the ball behind the neutral zone andadvance it.
The ball was still alive.
-OR-
(max 20 characters - letters, numbers, and underscores only. Note that your username is private, and you have the option to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)
(A valid e-mail address is required. Your e-mail will not be shared with anyone.)
(min 5 characters)
By checking this box, you acknowledge that you have read and agree to Jobstr.com’s Terms and Privacy Policy.
-OR-
(Don't worry: you'll be able to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)