Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

Is this page still active

Asked by KayTee about 11 years ago

The guy answering is still alive.  Does that help?

If there is defensive of holding penalty and the offense gets a first down , do you add 5 yards to the end of the play?

Asked by dlibby360@yahoo.com almost 11 years ago

There are fouls that can be tacked on to the end of the run.  A defensive hold is not one.  In college, for example, roughing the passer can be tacked on, even on a completed pass.  And on kick plays (punt), if the defense was offsides, rather than rekick - if the team wouldn't get a first down with the penalty - that can be added to the end of the play.  The idea there is to speed up play and also avoid additional fouls - and injuries - that can occur on kicks.

I have noticed while watching a game, the play clock will be down to a certain number say 8 then change to 25 before the ball is snapped. Please, tell me why or should this be happening?

Asked by Rick Greenberg over 10 years ago

If the ball isn't set for some reason by the time the play clock reaches 20 seconds, the referee will pump one hand in the air to reset the play clock to 25. That's to give the offense a fair opportunity to run their offense. But 8 seconds? Something else must have happened - was there a timeout or some clock malfunction or an injury? The 25 count is "sacrosanct" and generally you don't interrupt it.

The NFL rule book says only 1 penalty can be enforced per play.
The exception being if touching a ref is one of them. How did the Bengals get two 15 yard penalties on 1 play? One for defenseless receiver and one unsportsmanlike conduct for 30 yards

Asked by Kashman100 over 9 years ago

Th defenseless player call is a live ball foul, that is, during the play. The unsportsmanlike would probably have been a dead ball foul. after the play is over. You can enforce a live ball and a dead ball foul.

Could offside been called on the kicker doing the onside kick in the game last night? The kicker's plant foot was across the line planted on the ground before he kicked the ball.

Asked by Darryl over 9 years ago

No foul. The kicker is the only player who can be in advance of the ball on a free kick. Interesting how so many people have asked this for this pkay, yet it happens on virtually every onside kick. A lot of anti-Bama fans out there.

Does the offense have to allow the defense to come set before snapping the ball? In the Out back bowl the reff said the offense didnt allow the defense to get set a on a quick snap on 4th and 1. It was the worst call I have ever seen and want to know

Asked by tmyers378@gmail.com over 11 years ago

Didn't see that game and don't know what the ref said.  But....

It isn't that the offense has to let the defense get "set"; the defense has to be allowed to "match up" if the offense makes changes late in the 40 second count. For example, if the offense is running a hurry up offense (or no huddle) and they do not substitute, there's no action taken. But the citation is Rule 3-5-2-e: "....Team A [offense] is prohibited from rushing quickly to the line of scrimmage with the obvious attempt of creating a defensive disadvantage.  If the ball is ready for play, the game officials will not permit the ball to be snapped until Team B [defense] has placed substitutes in position and replaced players have left the field of play. Team B must react promptly with its substututes." The Referee and other officials will hold their arms out to the side ("iron cross") and the Umpire will stand over the ball preventing a snap. 

There's a good deal of interpretation and judgment by the officials on such plays.  And it is used often, but most times the defense makes its substitutions and the play goes off normally. Most games, fans don't even know it's happening.  Obviously that wasn't the case here.

In Bills vs Packers game yesterday. In the last 2 minutes of the game Aaron Rogers had the ball knocked or of his hands and ball landed in endzone and was recovered by Ed Lacy resulting in a safety. Is that considered a fumble or muff by NFL rules?

Asked by Eini34 over 10 years ago

From what you stated, "had the ball knocked or of his hands", that is a fumble. We are taking the position that he had possession, so there is no muff. A fumble by the offensive team that is recovered by the offense in the end zone, and the recovering player (Lacy) remains on the ground in the end zone, results in a safety. Even it was a muff, if the offense put the ball into the end zone and it remains there in their possession, it is a safety.