Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

A player drives hard to the basket. He puts his shoulder in the defender chest, jumps up and score. The collision and the shot is almost at the same time. The referee calls for an offensive foul, the ball is in the air. Does the basket still counts?

Asked by Max over 9 years ago

No. In NFHS rules, a basket cannot count if an offensive foul is called on the shooter.

if the buzzer sounds at the end of the game and the ref blows her whistle at the same time, can she extend the time on the clock to give a team two foul shots?

Asked by Antonietta over 9 years ago

Even though the buzzer sounds if the shot left the shooters hand before time expired, the ball is live and the shot counts. If the shooter was fouled in the act of shooting at the end of the game, if making any of the free throws could matter to the outcome of the game the lane is cleared and the free throws are attempted.

Sorry Mr. Referee not being clear enough, I meant the action starting from 0:11 in this video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=21&v=YHOGaXtjxZs

May I ask your expert opinion on this too? :)

Asked by isogulaleb over 9 years ago

Definitely body contact, In high school ball that would be called a foul.

Referee misses the bonus on a foul and play continues for 20 seconds. Referee realizes mistake and stops play to allow player to shoot the bonus one and one freethrow. Do you put the 20 sec back on the clock?

Asked by Dave over 9 years ago

It is correctable as you describe the play. Put the correct player at the line. All fouls and points which occurred before the error is recognized stand, but no time is put back on the clock.

Player is in-bounding ball - fakes a pass that cross plane and defensive player touches the ball - what is the call? Also, is defense allowed to steal or knock ball since ball crossed the plane but still in possession of in-bounder?

Asked by rph over 9 years ago

If an in bounder crosses the inbounds plane the defender has the right to touch the ball or rip it out.

Since im not sure how to reply to your answer on 4 shoots for a technical let me rephrase, there is only one technical and there are 9 team fouls makeing the technical the 10th does this situation recieve 4 free throws

Asked by Brandon Jackson over 9 years ago

No, you do not award 4 free throws in this scenario. While tehnicals count against team foul bonus totals you do not get a technical and a common foul for the same action.To illustrate, let's assume there are 8 team fouls on team b and a technical foul is called. Team a gets 2 free throws and the ball, and the bonus count goes to 9. Then on the next play team b commits a common foul. Team a shoots 2 free throws because the count goes to 10.

a player tried to block my shot, too far away so he lowered into my face. I told him it was cheap and a tech foul. He said not if I was shooting and he "tried" to block my shot. I said didnt matter, face guarding is face guarding shooting or not.

Asked by Darcy over 9 years ago

Rule 10, section 3, which delineates player technical fouls, Article 6d, "A player shall not commit an unsporting foul. This includes, but is not limited to purposely obstructing an opponent's vision by waiving or placing hands near his/her eyes."